Heartbreaking

Today I found out about a friend who is 19 years old. She was raped on campus at CU Boulder this Fall. I always saw her as a strong women of 6 feet tall and confident. Now I see her as a child trying to figure out how to be safe to survive life on a college campus.

You feel empowered your senior year of high school your ready to take on the world. Then some pugnacious petulant of a person steals from you power over your own body. It’s hard as a friend to see my friend suffer. Its hard knowing what she is going through. The nights that she will wake up afraid to go back to sleep. The sudden smells that will make her remember and vomit. PTSD hits at the most awkward times.

Now she is armed with pepper spray. She is scared of the dark. Has aids test every 2 months. She is afraid to kiss her boyfriend. Life will never be the same. She has lost her innocence.

Now life is shades of gray. Some days more light shines through the barrier. Most days it is hell. It will be like this for months maybe years. It takes a long time to sort through the abuse and brutality of what someone thought they had the right to do to another human being.

If you are reading this post. Please send your prayers and good thoughts out into the universe. Help my friend find peace. Help others who have suffered through attack and rape. Tonight I am praying for all of you. I am sending good thoughts out into the universe. I pray you sleep an innocent sleep unburdened by pain or fear. Good night my friends stay strong you are not alone.

You must be logged in to post a comment.

