No Sleep

By Anonymous

Night after night no sleep.
Night time is the worst.
In the darkness is the unknown.
In the darkness is fear and sadness.

I do not go out at night.
I stay in safe from the darkness.
He cannot come in.
He cannot find me.
I am safe behind my locked door.

I nap during the day.
Or sleep with a loved one to protect me.
The fear of what will happen is hard to overcome.
Trusting in another to save me and protect me is hard.

I must trust others to help me.
To keep me safe.
To care for me.
To shelter me from harm.

Or I will never feel again.
Or I will never be safe.
Or I will never go out at night.
Or I will never sleep.

I want to heal.
I want to be safe.
I want to be free of my guilt and shame.
I want to come and go without fear of the night.
I want to smile again.
I want to feel like me.
I want to sleep peacefully.

In time when I look in the mirror the face that looks back will look like me.
In time that face will heal from cuts and bruises and will look like me.
In time I will heal on the outside.
In time I will heal on the inside.
In time I hope to trust again.

Tonight I will trust a loved one to protect me.
Tonight I will be safe.
Tonight I will sleep.

I pray you have someone to watch over you.
I pray for your safety.
I pray for you to sleep.

You must be logged in to post a comment.

